How often do we have communion?

In the Presbyterian Church, you are only required to have communion quarterly.
What does our church do?

  • The session determines how often we celebrate the Lord’s Supper.  (Book of Order, W-3.3101, 5)
  • The First Presbyterian Church of Lake Alfred will have communion monthly beginning with March 2018:
    • Sunday, March 4, 2018
    • ​Sunday, April 8, 2018
    • Sunday, May 6, 2018
    • Sunday, June 3, 2018
    • Sunday, July 1, 2018
    • Sunday, August 5, 2018
    • Sunday, September 2, 2018
    • Sunday, October 7, 2018 (World Communion)
    • Sunday, November 4, 2018
    • Sunday, December 2, 2018
  • Special times -
    • At this time we have determined that we will have communion on Ash Wednesday, February 14, 2018.
    • Other times as approved by Session.

2/5/17

Communion in the Presbyterian Church

Communion 2/5/17

Who can serve communion?

Any elder in the Presbyterian Church.  Once an elder, always an elder. 

  • There are two types of elders: the teaching elder (pastor) and the ruling elder.
  • Ruling elders retain their ordination for life, even though they serve fixed terms, and thus may serve communion.

Who can partake of communion?

Presbyterians practice open communion.  The Lord’s Table is open to all that believe in Jesus Christ as their savior.

Updated March 9, 2018



“For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes."   

First Corinthians 11:26​